Category: Mavericks


Congratulations National Merit Semifinalists

2019 National Merit Scholarship Program Semifinalists

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) has announced the names Semifinalists in the 2019 National Merit Scholarship Program. These students qualified as Semifinalists in the 2019 National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT) during their junior year. These three students scored amongst the highest on the PSAT in the state of Nevada and represent less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors, including the highest scoring entrants in each state.

This year A-TECH has three students who have qualified as Semifinalist in the 2019 National Merit Scholarship Program. If you see these student please feel free to congratulate them on their outstanding efforts and scholastic achievement.

Congratulations to A-TECH’s 2019 National Merit Scholarship Corporation Semifinalists:

Ian Mayo

Gabriel Adrian Musngi

Derek Yu

To become a Finalist, the Semifinalist and their high school must submit a detailed scholarship application, in which they provide information about the Semifinalist’s academic record, participation in school and community activities, demonstrated leadership abilities, employment, and honors and awards received. A Semifinalist must have an outstanding academic record throughout high school, be endorsed and recommended by a high school official, write an essay, and earn SAT scores that confirm the student’s earlier performance on the qualifying test.

From the approximately 16,000 Semifinalists, about 15,000 are expected to advance to the Finalist level, and in February they will be notified of this designation.

We wish each of our Semifinalists the best as they continue in the competition and have an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,500 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $31 million that will be offered in the spring.


Congratulations Intel Intel International Science and Engineering Fair (ISEF) Winners


Congratulations to the students who represented A-TECH at the INTEL ISEF Awards Banquet.  A-TECH’s First Place recipients were Aleem Ahmed, Daniel Chong, Shiva Kittusamy and Abhishek Ravi. Both Shiva Kittusamy and Abhishek Ravi qualified for the Intel Science and Engineering Fair. Each year more than approximately 1,800 student finalists earn the right to attend the Intel ISEF as a result of winning an Intel ISEF-affiliated fair at a local, regional, or national level. Intel ISEF finalists compete for on average $4 million in awards and prizes and are judged on their creative ability and scientific thought, as well as the thoroughness, skill, and clarity shown in their projects. Congratulations and Good Luck as you move forward!


Congratulations A-TECH – Ranked the 2018 #1 School in Nevada by U.S. News & World Report

Congratulations Mavericks on being named the 2018 #1 School in Nevada by U.S. News & World Report. A-TECH is also ranked #137 out of more than 20,500 schools in the United States.  A-TECH’s rank jumped over 150 places this year which is a testament of the hard work put in by students, staff and administration to make A-TECH a diverse, dynamic and challenging place to learn.

A-TECH’s Overview:

Top Ranked Nevada Schools:


Congratulations Journalism Students

Congratulations to Ms. Stern and our Journalism students on your success at this year’s Las Vegas Review Journal High School Journalism Awards ceremony. This competition is open to all high schools in the area (public and private) and now includes over 40 different publications. Each school is able to submit 2 entries per category so taking home any recognition is a huge accomplishment.

1st Place – Best Entertainment Story – Olivia Fink
1st Place – Opinion Writing/Humorous – Drew Comer
3rd Place – Opinion Writing/Serious – Laura Sanchez Zavala
3rd Place – Best News Photo – Jason Park
Honorable Mention – Best Feature Story – Joanna Bieda

But most importantly, the entire Maverick Pulse took home the following award:
3rd Place – Best News Website – Editor-in-Chief Jason Park

In addition, Jason was selected as our staff’s Most Valuable Staffer for the 2017-18 school year for his outstanding dedication and hard work as our site’s Editor-in-Chief

Please congratulate these students (and all students on staff) when you see them. Click on the photo to see it without distortion.


Congratulations March Students of the Month

Congratulations to the following students who were selected as Student of the Month for March:
Fernanda Angulo, Ryohei Wagley, Amya Williams, Ariana Boorboor, Erika Gomez, Ruben Leon, Dylan Logan, Miles Sims, Isaac Carpenter, Christopher Chung, Siaviash Mirzazade, Abhishek Ravi, Yvette Moraza and Stephanie Mahler.


Congratulations A-TECH FBLA – Second Place Team at State

Congratulations to the A-TECH FBLA team for a 2nd place finish at State.  This year 40 students represented A-TECH with 12 first, 13 second, and 12 third place finishes. What makes this more impressive is our team had 30 sophomores.  Below is a list of our top 3 finishers, please congratulate them if you see them.
1 Network Design Ryan Huppert
1 Business Law Andrei Iorgulescu
1 Introduction Parliamentary Jefrin Jojan
1 Securities Investments Jefrin Jojan
1 Accounting I Issac Lucero
1 Sales Presentation Ricardo Perez
1 Network Design Sewwandi Vithanage
1 Health Administration Megan Wang
1 Personal Finance Megan Wang
1 Computer Problem Xanthos Way
1 Help Desk Xanthos Way
1 Networking Concepts Xanthos Way
2 Coding Programming Angelica Amansec
2 Network Design Angelica Amansec
2 Agribusiness Jordan Boeddeker
2 Management Information Jordan Boeddeker
2 Business Ethics Brandon Bushman
2 Business Calculations Calvin Carpenter
2 Personal Finance Calvin Carpenter
2 Health Administration Aaron Cheng
2 Business Ethics Andrei Iorgulescu
2 Sales Presentation Andrei Iorgulescu
2 Management Systems Mara Lee
2 Accounting II Issac Lucero
2 Network Design Xanthos Way
3 Hospitality Management Jordan Boeddeker
3 Advertising Donny Chen
3 Securities Investments Andrei Iorgulescu
3 Hospitality Mara Lee
3 Social Campaign Sesar Lopez
3 Organizational Leadership Issac Lucero
3 Social Media Issac Lucero
Alex Santoyo
3 Hospitality Management Angela Velez
3 Networking Concepts Sewwandi Vithanage
3 Introduction Business Charles Weber
Raymond Wu

Congratulations Jamie Centeno – CCSD Star Graduate

Congratulations to Jamie Centeno who is featured on the CCSD Website as a 2018 Star Graduate.

Jamie Centeno of Advanced Technologies Academy is a true model A-TECH student. She is multi talented, has a passion for learning and is focused on helping others.

Academically, Jamie has shown a willingness to challenge herself in diverse subjects.
She has a 4.769 GPA, has taken a dozen AP courses, and was named a National Advanced Placement Scholar. Jamie has also excelled in her CTE architecture program and won several awards and is even helping to redesign public areas throughout A-TECH.

She is an A-TECH Ambassador and the lead tutor for the Nevada Childhood Cancer Foundation, which helps students with cancer keep up with their academics while receiving cancer treatment.

Jamie’s family is from Honduras, and she will be a first generation college student either at USC or UNLV next year.

Congratulations to Star Graduate Jamie Centeno of A-TECH!

Link to CCSD Newsroom Article